Publishing Student Work

Publishing, sharing and celebrating student work is an integral part of reading and writing workshops. Students share books they have written, they blog about the books they are reading, we host author’s teas and poetry slams to which we invite families and friends to celebrate our hard work. We acknowledge having an audience and a community as something that is critically important in literacy.

A few years ago, as I was thinking more about communities of mathematicians and writing Math Exchanges ,I decided to think more about publishing, sharing and celebrating students as mathematicians. One thing I worked on a lot was having a way of sharing and celebrating our work within our classroom community of mathematicians. We created a Multiplication and Division Museum and brought in all sorts of items that encouraged mathematizing. Students spent time in the morning and during the math workshop writing story problems about these items and publishing them for their fellow mathematicians to think about.

In the picture above Felisa, Blanca and Sandy wrote about some sticky notes that someone had left on the table. In Spanish (this was a Spanish immersion classroom) they wrote, “Each package of sticky notes costs $1.50. How much is 10 packets?” Below Max responded with his strategy to the girls’ problem.

The students loved this interaction. I remember how excited Felisa, Blanca, and Sandy were when they saw that they had a response to their work from a fellow mathematician. They raced to the Multiplication and Division Museum to read what Max had written for them.

Later we took some of this sharing and publication of our work to the internet, using Voicethread to publish our mathematical ideas and reach (and receive feedback from) a wider community of mathematicians. “Hey, Antonio!” yelled a thrilled third grader, “your mom posted a comment on my story problem!!”

This year I’m hoping to continue learning about the process of sharing, publishing and building communities of mathematicians inside and beyond the classroom walls. How are you doing this in your classroom?

 

5 thoughts on “Publishing Student Work

  1. I agree that publishing is a crucial (and sadly sometimes forgotten) aspect of the learning process. Students do crave that validation from others for their hard work and accomplishments in all content areas. My students do blog about what they are learning in all content areas, including math. I always challenge them to create a real-world problem for their blog audience to solve.

    Another way we have published their math is with StoryJumper. Here is an example of one that my students directed after being inspired by Greg Tang’s Math-terpieces: http://www.storyjumper.com/book/index/2146242/Math-terpieces

    Thank you for reminding me of the importance of emphasizing publishing in the math classroom.

    1. Wow–I’d never seen StoryJumper before. Thanks for letting me know about this great resource. I love the book your kids made–so great to see them using a mathy book as a mentor text.

  2. I’m excited to see your website. As a secondary language arts and Spanish teacher, I do not have much background in math education, but I have been hearing more and more about math workshop. Since I love reading and writing workshop, I was curious about how it works with math workshop. I will enjoy reading more of your ideas on this blog and in your book to get a better sense of the possibilities.

  3. So happy to see this post! I have been attempting to implement a math workshop for a few years now and I am still searching for whatt feels “right”. I am looking forward to your new book! This post really caught my eye, just Friday my class created a Voicethread to share ways they had discoverd to practice counting! Kids loved seeing their work posted in VoiceThread and explaining their thinking and process through oral comments! We shared this VT with familes and we plan to use it as a resource when we need an idea in workshop. I am also hoping kids ask to conitinue adding to the VT as new ways of learning about math are discovered!
    Wish I could share the VT but I have photos and names linked…
    Looking forward to more, planning to to stop by Reflect and Refine for my chance to win your new book!

    1. Thanks, Deb. I’m looking forward to exploring more with Voicethread this year as well. I feel like I’m just getting my feet wet. We should get together a group on Twitter of people wanting to learn more!

Leave a Reply

