A Peak Ahead to NCTM

This week some of my wonderful kindergarten colleagues and I head to Philadelphia for the NCTM conference! I can’t wait to hear some great presentations and do some thinking.

Here’s a peak ahead to what I’ll be presenting at NCTM:

“Guided Math in Kindergarten” with Lorna Cordero, Lauren Nye, and Tricia Tyskowski

Thursday, April 26, 2012, 12:30pm-1:30pm, Marriott Downtown, Franklin Hall 2

We’ll be talking about how our kindergarten team builds a culture of math workshop with a shared philosophy, but different teaching styles.

We’ll share 3 Elements of our shared philosophy in practice

  • Math is storytelling.
  • Kindergartners are powerful mathematicians.
  • Teaching is responsive to student learning.
 “From Counting to Place Value: Making Meaning through Guided Math”
Saturday, April 28, 2012, 8:00am-9:00am (Come, on early birds!), Convention Center, 115C
I’ll be talking about why base ten understanding is the gateway to numeracy, and the ways in which we can create math workshops and make time and space for math exchanges that promote a deep understanding of our number system.
I’ll also be debuting a new video clip of a math exchange in action with some thoughtful young mathematicians at work!
So, if you’ll be at NCTM in Philly this year, I hope you’ll stop by one of our talks.
What other great presentations are you headed to? Leave a comment with your suggestions.

2 thoughts on “A Peak Ahead to NCTM

  1. Kassia,
    I heard your presentation at NCTM and I bought your book. You were kind enough to sign it for me. I am already halfway through and so excited to begin math exchanges in my classroom. I already do guided math but I am so energized by the new ideas you have given me. Thank you so much and I look forward to reading your blog as well.
    Sue

    1. Thanks so much, Sue! I’m glad the book/presentation could spark some new thoughts about how you can guide your group of mathematicians.

Leave a Reply

